Posted in Uncategorized

It Was Me All Along by Andie Mitchell

A heartbreakingly honest, endearing memoir of incredible weight loss by a young food blogger who battles body image issues and overcomes food addiction to find self-acceptance…

It Was Me All Along
by
Andie Mitchell

*** Special THANK YOU to Blogging For Books for providing me with a review copy. My review is my own personal opinion.***

BOOK DESCRIPTION:

IMG_0666.JPG
All her life, Andie Mitchell had eaten lustily and mindlessly. Food was her babysitter, her best friend, her confidant, and it provided a refuge from her fractured family. But when she stepped on the scale on her twentieth birthday and it registered a shocking 268 pounds, she knew she had to change the way she thought about food and herself; that her life was at stake.

It Was Me All Along takes Andie from working class Boston to the romantic streets of Rome, from morbidly obese to half her size, from seeking comfort in anything that came cream-filled and two-to-a-pack to finding balance in exquisite (but modest) bowls of handmade pasta. This story is about much more than a woman who loves food and abhors her body. It is about someone who made changes when her situation seemed too far gone and how she discovered balance in an off-kilter world. More than anything, though, it is the story of her finding beauty in acceptance and learning to love all parts of herself.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

IMG_0668.JPG
Hi, I’m Andie Mitchell, a 29-year-old passionate writer, recipe developer, and friend to chocolate. Cooking and baking have always held a special place in my life — from the creation to the consumption. I am home in my kitchen. My heart, my history…they belong to that space between the stove and the sink. On any given day, I’m dreaming up a new recipe, eating a peanut butter and fluff sandwich, and/or embarrassing myself publicly. Eight years ago I lost 100+ lbs and have maintained a healthy weight ever since. I’m also working on a cookbook as we speak, to be published in the fall of 2016! Both books are published by the incredible Clarkson Potter, a division of Random House.

MY REVIEW

I was thrilled when I heard this book was coming out and couldn’t wait to get my hands on a copy. I love to read stories of people who have overcome their struggle with food and/or weight.

Andie shares the lifetime struggle of diet fails and the final acceptance that she would always be a fat girl…then came the turning point and everything changed.

I could totally relate to Andie’s story. I just “got her” and her emotional ties to food. I was so appreciative of her openness and honesty- she holds nothing back. I felt the sadness and loneliness she felt growing up in a dysfunctional home. I related to her desire to be accepted by her peers at school, but never really feeling accepted. And through all of the ups and downs of life- food was a constant, food would never reject her….but the food would also never fully satisfy a heart hunger.

You’ll gobble up this delectable memoir…so don’t miss it!

*****5/5 STARS- LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!!!*****

a note to my readers: this book does contain a few expletives

Author:

At JoJo's Corner you will find book reviews for Christian fiction and nonfiction, with a few Bible study reviews thrown in here and there. I have a passion for great Christian books and their amazingly awesome authors!!!

One thought on “It Was Me All Along by Andie Mitchell

Leave a Reply

