Posted in Fiction

Book Review & Author Q&A | The Word Changers by Ashlee Willis


A PLACE WHERE WORDS CAN CHANGE ENTIRE WORLDS…

The Word Changers
by
Ashlee Willis

*** Special THANK YOU to the author for providing me with a review copy.***
***My review is my own personal opinion.***

BOOK DESCRIPTION:


Escaping from the turmoil of a broken family, fifteen-year-old Posy finds herself at her usual haunt … the library. This time, though, when she chooses an unfamiliar book from the shelf, she does not devour its words and pages as she usually does.

Its words devour her.

Posy is pulled into the pages of a fairy tale, even mistaken for one of its characters. But all is far from perfect in this story’s Kingdom. Characters are whispering of rebellion against both their Plot and the cruel king who has seized control of it. And Posy must find a lost princess whose role in the story is crucial, before her own story comes to a horrible end …

With the proud and haughty Prince Kyran as a reluctant companion, Posy ventures past the Borders of the Plot, into the depths of the gloomy and treacherous Wild Land forest that lies beyond. Secrets are buried there. Dark mysteries and shadowy creatures, dangerous and deadly.

Yet the deadliest danger of all is the one that Posy carries within herself.

Soon it is clear that finding the lost princess is the least of Posy’s concerns. The Author of the book must be found. His Plot must be put to rights again, his characters reminded of who they were first written to be. Only then will the True Story be written, both for Posy, and for the tale she has now become a part of.

Courage and forgiveness are needed for Posy to find her way home again. But bitterness and shadows haunt her every step of the way…

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

20140608-122119.jpg
Ashlee Willis is the author of Christian fantasy for young adults. She lives in the heart of Missouri. When not reading or writing, you will find her in her garden, splashing in the creek with her young son, or taking long forest rambles.

AUTHOR Q&A:

#1 TELL US THREE RANDOM FACTS ABOUT YOURSELF.

I’m left-handed. I have an obsession with trees. My basement is so full of books it is no longer habitable.

#2 WHAT 4 THINGS WOULD YOU HAVE TO HAVE ON A DESERTED ISLAND?

Hope I’m not cheating by giving two sets of answers! Haha.
For bodily survival: A knife, rope, flint and a water filter.
For mental/spiritual survival: Pencils, a notebook, The Chronicles of Narnia, the Bible.

#3 DO YOU HAVE A FAVORITE BIBLE VERSE?

Too many to mention, really! One I love is 1 Corinthians 13:12. “Now we see but a poor reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.”

#4 IF YOU HAD TO HANG OUT WITH A CHARACTER FROM YOUR BOOK FOR 24 HOURS, WHO WOULD IT BE & WHY?

I love the Wild Folk. They were creatures of the forest that were also literally a part of the forest. These folk are all rather in the background of The Word Changers, none of their names were even used within the book. Yet I have a bit of a fascination with them, which started from when I first began writing about them. I would love to spend time with one. I have a feeling their ways of seeing and understanding things would be acutely different from a human’s.

#5 WHEN DID YOU FIRST KNOW YOU WANTED TO BE A WRITER?

I don’t think it hit me at a certain moment. It was a realization that came gradually. I wrote things when I was quite young, 9 or 10, and it grew from there. Ever since I began reading, around 5 or 6, I feel as if I’ve constantly had a book in my hands. And loving something as much as I have always loved books, it felt natural for me to go the extra step and actually begin creating books of my own.

#6 WHAT ARE YOU CURRENTLY READING?

At the moment I’m reading Revision and Self-Editing by James Scott Bell (super fun, I know!). I’ve got Jenelle Schmidt’s King’s Warrior by my bedside, next in line! I wish I was one of those people who could read 4 or 5 books at a time, but I just don’t have the capacity for that, I guess! I’ve tried it, but I get much less joy out of reading when I do that.

#7 DO YOU HAVE ANYTHING YOU WANT TO SHARE ABOUT “THE WORD CHANGERS”?

The Word Changers is a book I wrote based on a single, small idea (I suppose all books begin that way, really …). It went from a simple, childish fantasy I had years ago into something more focused that God opened my eyes to along the way. It was a great journey to write, and I hope my readers will be pleased with it!

#8 WHAT ARE YOU CURRENTLY WORKING ON?

I am working on a young adult fantasy duology. I’ve written the first draft of the first book, and am waiting until I finish the sequel (halfway through now!) to begin revisions for them both. I have a tentative goal of having them both ready for submission by the end of this year … we’ll see!

MY REVIEW

What an amazing, awesome, fun story!!!
I absolutely love what the author has done with this book- I feel like it takes the reading experience to a whole new level!
What would happen if you could step inside your favorite book?
What if you were mistaken for one of the characters?
How awesome would that be?!?
Well, that’s exactly what happens to main character Posey.
I could not stop reading, I had to find out what would happen to these amazing characters.
Any fan of fantasy fiction will love The Word Changers!

*****5/5 STARS- 2014 FAVE!!! LOVE LOVE LOVE IT; GET YOUR OWN COPY!!!*****

Author:

At JoJo's Corner you will find book reviews for Christian fiction and nonfiction, with a few Bible study reviews thrown in here and there. I have a passion for great Christian books and their amazingly awesome authors!!!

Leave a Reply

