Posted in Uncategorized

Book Review & FREE Sample | Atlas Girl by Emily T. Wierenga


Finding Home in the Last Place I Thought to Look

Atlas Girl
by
Emily T. Wierenga

*** Special THANK YOU to the publisher for providing me with a review copy.***
***My review is my own personal opinion.***

BOOK DESCRIPTION:


Broken down by organized religion, a childhood battle with anorexia, and her parents’ rigidity, she set out to find God somewhere else–anywhere else. Her travels took her across three continents in buses, cars, and planes, across mountains and over deep blue seas.

What she hadn’t realized was that her faith was waiting for her the whole time–in the place she least expected it.

Poignant and passionate, Atlas Girl is a deeply personal story of the yearning we all share to be truly known, entirely forgiven, and utterly loved.

WHAT PEOPLE ARE SAYING ABOUT ATLAS GIRL:

“Emily shares the unexpected beauty God has created in her broken places as he’s made her heart whole again, and how he can do the same for you.”–Holley Gerth, bestselling author of You’re Already Amazing

“Her honesty is raw, real. Her faith is hard-won. And when it finally pours out, her love–oh, her love soars off the page and makes a nest in our hearts. Brilliant and beautiful.”
Liz Curtis Higgs, bestselling author of Bad Girls of the Bible

“This isn’t just a book, this is a journey. Of grief and wonder, loss and gain. Emily tells a world-spanning story that this world needs!”–Jon Acuff, New York Times bestselling author of Start

“I felt like she was giving me an atlas of my own, asking me real, important questions about my own walk through life. Her story about loss, life, and love is worth its telling.”–Tsh Oxenreider, author of Notes from a Blue Bike

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

20140608-122119.jpg
Emily T. Wierenga is an award-winning journalist, columnist, artist, author, and blogger at http://www.emilywierenga.com. Her work has appeared in many publications, including Prodigal Magazine, A Deeper Story, Christianity Today, Dayspring’s (in)courage, and Focus on the Family. She speaks regularly about her journey with anorexia. She lives in Alberta, Canada, with her husband, Trenton, and their two sons.

MY REVIEW

I absolutely loved reading this raw, real, heart-felt memoir from Emily Wierenga! I first encountered her writing in her Quilts of Love novel: A Promise In Pieces. I loved that book so much and when I heard this was coming out, I knew I had to snag a copy!
Emily just comes across as so down-to-earth and open in Atlas Girl. Even though this is a very hard to read story at times, but this is a journey well worth taking.
I’m so glad that I read this and I cannot wait to share it. It was just really encouraging to see how God was working in Emily’s life- even in the dark times….it reminded me that He’s working in my dark moments too.

*****5/5 STARS- 2014 FAVE NONFICTION!!! LOVE LOVE LOVE IT; GET YOUR OWN COPY!!!*****

Author:

At JoJo's Corner you will find book reviews for Christian fiction and nonfiction, with a few Bible study reviews thrown in here and there. I have a passion for great Christian books and their amazingly awesome authors!!!

Leave a Reply

