Posted in Uncategorized

Pulling Back The Shades- Dannah Gresh & Dr. Juli Slattery


This book is not ultimately about the Fifty Shades series
or even about erotica.
This book is about the spiritual battle
for the hearts and souls of women…
PULLING BACK THE SHADES
by
Dannah Gresh & Dr. Juli Slattery

*** Special THANK YOU to the publisher for providing me with a review copy.***

ABOUT THE AUTHORS:

20140206-152940.jpg
When Dannah Gresh was eight years old, she prayed a prayer devoting her life to serving God with all her heart, all her mind and all her soul. But she forgot to love him well during her teen years. The plan to devote herself to the Lord was derailed by sexual pain. Healing seemed elusive, but when it did come it overflowed from her heart and into the lives around her. First one teen girl. Then a cabin-full. And it was only the beginning of what God would do with a broken heart. Today Dannah is a best-selling author and sought-after speaker.

VISIT DANNAH’S WEBSITE

20140206-152940.jpg
Dr. Juli Slattery is a clinical psychologist and coauthor of “Passion Pursuit”, written with Linda Dillow, her cofounder of Authentic Intimacy.

VISIT DR. JULI’S WEBSITE

BOOK DESCRIPTION:

You don’t have to choose between being sexual or spiritual

Spiritual women have legitimate desires that are seldom addressed-and books like Fifty Shades of Grey are designed to exploit! Yet, spirituality and sexuality were never meant to be mutually exclusive. Now, with solid biblical teaching and transparent stories, trusted authors Dannah Gresh and Dr. Juli Slattery offer an unflinching look at the most personal questions women ask. Whether you are single or married, reading erotica or Jane Austen, Pulling Back the Shades will address your desire to be both sexual and spiritual.

MY REVIEW

I read this book in one sitting and WOW! How timely! How relevant! How eye-opening!
I like many other women had heard of the best-selling series by author EL James and being a book blogger, many of my friends and family wanted to know what I thought of the series.
Well…..
I did not read it, for many reasons. But the popularity of this series and others like it did cause me concern.
The fact that people I love and care about were reading the series and giving rave reviews, caused even more concern.
Honestly, I could not walk I to my big box book store or even my local Wal-mart without being bombarded with this ever popular genre of books. And I admit I wondered myself….what’s the deal?!?!
When I heard that Dannah and Juli were writing this book, I jumped on the chance to get a copy, hoping that I could share some of the things I’d learn with the women I care about.
I found it refreshing that Dannah chose not to read the Fifty Series……(you mean you can actually oppose and bring good arguments against something without partaking in it???? ***GASP***) Yes! Yes you can!
On the flip side, there are Fifty Shades fans who will refuse to even discuss the good the bad and the ugly unless and until you have read the series. I graciously thank Dr. Juli for reading the series and bringing her thoughts to the table.
Pulling Back The Shades is a reality check in a world of fantasy. The authors have brilliantly tackled the issue of erotica, intimacy and why women find series like Fifty so appealing. This book shines a bright light on the darkness, addiction, and despair breeding in the hearts of normal mommies and grandmas today.
Some people may hate this book. Some may find it more offensive than the series itself.
My prayer is that women will read Pulling Back The Shades with open minds and open hearts allowing God’s Holy Spirit to do His work and free them from the idea that satisfaction is found in anything other than our Lord JESUS.
If you are struggling with sexual addiction, if you know someone who is, or if you’re just a normal mommie who feels a little dissatisfied with your marriage, your sex life and you’re wishing for something more….read this book!!!

*****5/5 STARS- FANTASTIC; GET YOUR OWN COPY!!!*****

Author:

At JoJo's Corner you will find book reviews for Christian fiction and nonfiction, with a few Bible study reviews thrown in here and there. I have a passion for great Christian books and their amazingly awesome authors!!!

One thought on “Pulling Back The Shades- Dannah Gresh & Dr. Juli Slattery

Leave a Reply

