Posted in Fiction, FUN STUFF

Made To Last w/ Melissa Tagg

HI EVERYBODY!!!
Welcome to JoJo’s Corner.

I’m excited for today’s book review!

written by:

Publisher: Bethany House Publishers (September 15, 2013)
***Special thanks to the publisher for sending me a review copy.***

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Melissa Tagg is a former reporter turned author who loves all things funny and romancey. Her debut novel, a romantic comedy titled Made to Last, releases from Bethany House in September 2013, with a follow-up slated for summer 2014. In addition to her nonprofit day job, she is also the marketing/events coordinator for My Book Therapy, a craft and coaching community for writers founded by award-winning author Susan May Warren.

During her reporting days, Melissa interviewed presidential candidates and llama farmers, rode a hot air balloon and flew a plane, and once found herself face to face with a buffalo. But today she gets her kicks by letting her characters have their own fun. She’s passionate about humor, grace and happy endings.

VISIT THE AUTHORS WEBSITE HERE

BOOK DESCRIPTION:


Miranda Woodruff has it all. At least, that’s how it looks when she’s starring in her homebuilding television show, From the Ground Up. So when her network begins to talk about making cuts, she’ll do anything to boost ratings and save her show–even if it means pretending to be married to a man who’s definitely not the fiance who ran out on her three years ago.

When a handsome reporter starts shadowing Miranda’s every move, all his digging into her personal life brings him a little too close to the truth–and to her. Can the girl whose entire identity is wrapped up in her on-screen persona finally find the nerve to set the record straight? And if she does, will the life she’s built come crashing down just as she’s found a love to last?

Product Details:
Hardcover: 368 pages
Publisher: Bethany House Publishers (September 15, 2013)
List Price: $13.99
Language: English

MY REVIEW:

I am so delighted to have discovered a new fave author….Melissa Tagg!!!
I first “got to know” Melissa through her YouTube videos “Welcome Mat Wednesday”… she just has a bubbly personality and when I heard that she was releasing a book I knew I had to check it out! And let me just say…Melissa’s book has far exceeded all my expectations!
Let me tell ya what I love…
#1 MIRANDA WOODRUFF- I love her tough exterior but inner softness…she is very guarded after being burned by love. Though she has been “unlucky in love”, she has found major success on her woodworking/home-repair show. Miranda is put between a rock and a hard place in an effort to save the ratings and keep everyone on their jobs.
#2 THAT HANDSOME REPORTER- Matthew has his own agenda with Miranda to help further his own career….exploit her! Even though tabloid reporters have a bad rep, the author does a good job of keeping a fine balance with this character and keeping me liking him in spite of it all!!!
#3 ONE FAKE HUBBY…PLEASE- I love Blaze (Miranda’s fake TV hubby)! Even though he and Miranda are putting on a major charade for reporter Matthew Knox, I love him! I love his laid back easy going attitude and I loved that he really wanted to help Miranda!
#4 THE LIE FACTOR- I know that some other reviewers had a problem with the whole “lie factor”….ie the main character is portraying herself as something she is not…even though her intentions are totally unselfish, she is still lying- a lot! But I did not see this as off putting at all. I love Miranda and I see her heart throughout the story and I know that we all make stupid choices every now and then. This made for a very unique, very interesting story with a not so typical main character and I love her!

I am so excited about this new author and cannot wait to see what the future holds for her!!!

*****5/5 STARS HIGHLY RECOMMEND*****

MELISSA’S UPCOMING RELEASE:

20131204-201447.jpg

