Posted in Fiction

The White Road Chronicles: Luminosity (book 2) by Jackie Castle

HI EVERYBODY!!!
Welcome to JoJo’s Corner.
I’m excited for today’s book review:

written by:

CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform; 1 edition (September 24, 2013)
***Special thanks to the author for sending me a review copy.***

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

20131123-164800.jpg

Jackie Castle graduated from UT Southwestern Medical Center of Dallas.

She is a published freelance writer, storyteller and elementary educator.

She lives in Texas with her husband, two teenagers, and her dog, Ginger.

When she’s not teaching, she is traipsing through the worlds of Alburnium or Fae in search of another story.

She looks for the extraordinary in the ordinary in everything she experiences.

VISIT THE AUTHORS WEBSITE HERE

BOOK DESCRIPTION:

Alburnium is at war.

Eighteen-year-old Alyra’s joy of being reunited with her family fades when Prince Issah sends her beloved friends away on various quests across the kingdom. Allies must be gathered to stand against the dark ruler, Lord Darnel.

The reclusive dragons happen to be necessary allies. Alyra’s friendship with the young drake, Crystal, offers a slim hope of being heard by them instead of being burned. Alyra must travel to Drakensburg with her resentful brother, Ethan, a Messenger, who doesn’t trust her, a prankster Okbold intent on honoring his debt to her, and a unseen Guardian Instructor, who must teach her how to use the Illuminate’s gift before they reach the dragons’ hold.

Ethan has the words to persuade the dragons. Alyra carries the red fruit of the white tree to present as a peace offering. Until she finds Tarek, beaten and near death. She must choose between using the fruit to save the man she loves, or the kingdom she serves.

Product Details:
Series: The White Road Chronicles (Book 2)
Paperback: 388 pages
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform; 1 edition (September 24, 2013)
List Price: $12.98
Language: English

20131124-140814.jpg

MY REVIEW:

I just couldn’t wait to get my hands on this book!!
Jackie Castle really hooked me with the first book in the series and I was ready to go on more adventures with these characters.
Alyra is such a cool main character- I love her! I love strong female characters, but Alyra has had her share of hardships too.
I feel like she has really grown as a character as the journey has progressed.
The world Jackie has created is one of mystery & wonder…so vivid, so creative!
I literally could not stop reading…I feel so invested in these characters stories & don’t want the journey to end-though I am anticipating more in the series & can’t wait to see what the author has around the corner!
To me, this series is a creative mix of all the things I love about Narnia, Oz, and other beloved magical worlds of fiction.
Definitely one of my fave series!!

*****5/5 STARS HIGHLY RECOMMEND*****

