Posted in Fiction, FUN STUFF

Meet AMANDA TRU & The Romance of the Sugar Plum Fairy

HI EVERYBODY!!!
Welcome to JoJo’s Corner.
I’m excited for today’s book review:

written by:

***Special thanks to the author for sending me a review copy.***

Q&A WITH AMANDA TRU:

20131018-155053.jpg

When did you first know you wanted to be an author?

I can’t remember when I first knew I wanted to be a writer. It’s always just been a part of who I am, but actually achieving it often seemed an impossible dream. I was extremely shy growing up and have always had the ability to entertain myself with my imagination. Making up stories in my head was, and still is, one of my favorite past-times. Now I get to write down the stories to share, and I feel very blessed to be living my own dream-come-true story.

What is your best writing tip?

This is going to sound very bizarre, but here it is: take a shower. At least, that’s my own best, secret writing trick. I don’t know if it works for anyone else, but it certainly does for me! For some reason, I always get my best ideas in the shower. When my brain gets too foggy to work well or I’m struggling with the wording in a scene, I’ll take a shower. Without fail, I’ll have it figured out by the time I’m done. And then it’s a mad dash to get out and dry my hair before I forget it!

Tell us 3 random facts about yourself.

I play the violin. (I minored in Music in college)

I am extremely allergic to all milk products. (I’ve never even tasted real ice cream 😦 )

I like to fish. (I guess I should say I like to CATCH fish 🙂 )

What 4 things would you have to have if you were stranded on a deserted island?

Besides the obvious cell phone and survival tools, my “just because” list would include:

1. My Bible

2. A stack of blank notebooks and writing utensils (yes, I consider that one item 🙂 )

3. A toothbrush (I HAVE to have clean teeth!)

4. A random ball (that I could pretend is my friend, like Wilson in the movie “Castaway”)

Do you have a favorite Bible verse?

For me, picking a favorite Bible verse is like trying to choose the most exquisite rose in a beautiful rose garden. My favorite depends almost daily on my need or study. I love the Psalms, with Psalm 91 and 103 being at the top of my list. I also love Ephesians 3:20, and since that one seems to run through my head a lot, it’s one of today’s favorites. 20 “Now to Him who is able to do exceedingly abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that works in us, 21 to Him be glory in the church by Christ Jesus to all generations, forever and ever. Amen.”

With a lifelong love of reading and writing, Amanda Tru loves to let her imagination paint pictures in a wide variety of genres. Her current book list includes everything from a Christian time travel / romance series, to an action-packed suspense, to a romance involving a mysterious department-store Santa.

Amanda is a former elementary school teacher who now spends her days being mommy to three little boys and her nights furiously writing. Amanda lives in a small town in Idaho where the number of cows outnumbers the number of people.

Visit the author’s website.

AMANDA’S NEW BOOK:

20131018-155100.jpgAfter one last performance, Calyssa Durant will be trading in her ballet slippers for an uncertain future.

Having sacrificed so much of her life to become a ballerina, Calyssa has met her goals only to long for something more. She will dance the role of the Sugar Plum Fairy in the ‘Nutcracker’ one more time before quitting her traveling ballet troupe.

But, when a late-night rehearsal ends with surprising danger, Calyssa and theater owner, Nikolas Clauson, are caught in a battle with an unexpected villain. As the smoke clears, Calyssa finds herself on a journey to her own, real-life ‘Land of the Sweets’. Will she also find her own Nutcracker Prince, or will his stormy past and current secrets be more than this ballerina can overcome?

Product Details:
Series: Typecast Christmas (various authors)
Publication Date: September 17, 2013
List Price: Digital copy only $0.99
Paperback: 118 pages
Language: English

MY REVIEW:

Amanda Tru is easily one of my favorite authors!
Her quick-reads are fun, funny….sometimes suspenseful and full of memorable characters.
I was thrilled to hear she was releasing a book in the Typecast Christmas collection.
I was equally excited that this story followed main character, ballerina Calyssa Durant.
I tend to get into these ballet phases, where I watch ballet movies, read ballet books, pin ballet pics on my Pinterest….okay you get the idea! Happily, The Romance of the Sugar Plum Fairy was the perfect cure for my ballerina fever!!!
I absolutely love love loved this book so much!!!
There were moments I was biting my nails in suspense, other moments I was laughing out loud at Calyssa, Nina & Nik, and in the end I was in love with this book!
***love the interesting story behind Nina’s character***

FANS OF ROMANCE & LOVABLE CHARACTERS DON’T MISS THIS ONE!!!
*****5/5 STARS HIGHLY RECOMMEND*****

Author:

At JoJo's Corner you will find book reviews for Christian fiction and nonfiction, with a few Bible study reviews thrown in here and there. I have a passion for great Christian books and their amazingly awesome authors!!!

One thought on “Meet AMANDA TRU & The Romance of the Sugar Plum Fairy

Leave a Reply

