Posted in Fiction, FUN STUFF, GIVEAWAYS

Trouble with Teens- Guest Post by Suzanne Woods Fisher (Plus a Giveaway)!!!

swf-scavenger

Today, please welcome to my blog author Suzanne Woods Fisher!
Book one, The Letters, in Suzanne’s new series, Inn at Eagle Hill, is about to release on August 1.
Suzanne is hosting a scavenger hunt July 23 – August 1, and I’m one of the stops!
Keep an eye on Suzanne’s blog for a clue as to that day’s scavenger-
hunt stop and visit for a sneak peek at The Letters and the chance
to win a copy of the book!

“One thorn of experience is worth more than a wilderness of advice or warning.” Amish proverb

Bethany Schrock in The Letters is at an unsettled age. She has one foot in the Amish world, the other in the English world, and she’s not sure which one is the better fit. The only job she could find was waitressing at the Stoney Ridge Bar & Grill (a very non Amish-y place), and she soon discovered she got better tips if she wore English clothing. Bethany has her secret work life under control, hidden from her oh-so-proper grandmother . . . until Jimmy Fisher, as irritating as a pebble in her shoe and far too handsome for his own good, pokes his nose into her business. No thanks to Jimmy, everything comes crashing down on Bethany.

Bethany was dabbling in a world she wasn’t raised for. While the scenario in Letters is distinctly Amish, most every teen goes through a period of testing limits and trying on a new identity.

What do you remember feeling about pushing the boundaries of your parents’ comfort zones when you were a teen?
Looking back, how valuable were those times when you tested limits?
How dangerous were they?
What do you wish your parents had done differently . . . and would it have made a difference?

Perhaps, as in Bethany’s case, experience might have been the best teacher.

______________________________

Welcome to a place of unconditional love and unexpected blessings…

20130724-200850.jpg

Rose Schrock is a plain woman with a simple plan. Determined to find a way to support her family and pay off her late husband’s debts, she sets to work to convert the basement of her Amish farmhouse into an inn. While her family, especially her cranky mother-in-law, is unhappy with Rose’s big idea, her friend and neighbor, Galen King, supports the decision and he helps with the conversion. As Rose finalizes preparations for visitors, she prays. She asks God to bless each guest who stays at the Inn at Eagle Hill. As the first guest arrives and settles in, Rose is surprised to discover that her entire family is the one who receives the blessings, in the most unexpected ways. And she’s even more surprised when that guest decides to play matchmaker for Galen King.
With her signature plot twists combined with gentle Amish romance, bestselling author Suzanne Woods Fisher invites readers back to Stoney Ridge for fresh stories of simple pleasures despite the complexity of life. Fisher’s tale of God’s providence and provision will delight her fans and create many new ones. Welcome to the Inn at Eagle Hill.

CLICK HERE FOR MORE INFO ON THE LETTERS!!!

20130724-201231.jpg
Suzanne Woods Fisher is the bestselling author of the Inn at Eagle Hill series, Lancaster County Secrets series, and the Stoney Ridge Seasons series, as well as nonfiction books about the Amish, including “Amish Peace.” She is also the coauthor of a new Amish children’s series, The Adventures of Lily Lapp. Her interest in the Anabaptist cultures can be directly traced to her grandfather, who was raised in the Old Order German Baptist Brethren Church in Franklin County, Pennsylvania. Suzanne is a Carol Award winner and a Christy Award finalist. She is a columnist for Christian Post and Cooking & Such magazines. She lives in California. For more information, please visit suzannewoodsfisher.com and connect with her on Twitter @suzannewfisher. Get Amish proverbs delivered right to your mobile device! Download the Free App! <a href="http://bit.ly/10Tygyihttp://bit.ly/10Tygyi&lt;

CLICK HERE TO ENTER THE GIVEAWAY!!!

Author:

At JoJo's Corner you will find book reviews for Christian fiction and nonfiction, with a few Bible study reviews thrown in here and there. I have a passion for great Christian books and their amazingly awesome authors!!!

30 thoughts on “Trouble with Teens- Guest Post by Suzanne Woods Fisher (Plus a Giveaway)!!!

  1. Learning from experience can be a blessing or a curse depending on the lessons taken from the experience. Thanks for having this scavenger hunt and giving us a chance to win your book, Suzanne.

  2. experience is definitely the best teacher in the world. You can talk until you are blue in the face, but until they have to reap the consequences of a bad decision, they won’t learn. I know this because I had to learn the hard way, too, in a lot of my life decisions lol. I am looking forward to reading Suzanne’s new book!

  3. I never really tested my parents limits. I would love to win a copy of The Letters!! I just finished reading The Waiting and loved it!!! And I got my sister hooked on it too……I couldn’t comment for yesterday’s website…I don’t know why but it just wouldn’t let me…I tried like over five times 😦 but I wanted to leave a comment about your question Suzanne……I believe in miracles!! You have to have faith and believe!! God is soooo Big and Powerful and He has the power to do anything! Our human brain doesn’t get it sometimes but if you go sit outside and see how beautiful the skies are the tree and just feel God presence and ask Him to come and show you how Powerful He is……He will show you and you will feel that no matter what you’re going through God can do a miracle….even if it seems hopeless! My boyfriend had arthritis when he was a teenager and the doctors told him there’s no chance of you getting better or ever walking again…..but he believed! He told the doctor he will get better but the doctor said sorry there’s no chance…..and the church prayed and he prayed and around half a year later God did a miracle! He was healed and now he can run faster than me!!!……….God does miracles but only if you believe! And whatever you’re going through He is a Powerful God! Just let Him work a miracle in your life 🙂 God bless and I hope I get this book!!!!!

  4. I vividly remember being a teen, even though it was eons ago. My mother was too inflexible. I determined that I would not be that way with my own children.

  5. What teens experience now are very different and more difficult than what I experienced as a teen. We did not have a cell phone or computers and there is so much evil just waiting for them. Thank God, I was blessed to have a Mother who was always there for us, took us to church and youth functions. Suzanne, I love your books! Please enter me in the giveaway.

  6. I didn’t see in the post how to enter the contest, but I’m viewing the mobile version so maybe that’s why. Would love to win, though!!!

  7. I don’t really think I pushed any limits with my parents. I really did play the good kid for the most part.

Leave a Reply

